Reasons to Like the Place You Live

1. The rainbows

fall-color-001-small.jpg

2. The fall colors

fall-color-006-small.jpg

3. And even the leaves that need raked. When I was a small child, we used to rake the leaves and jump in them. We burned them in those days too, before we knew the smoke was bad for us, and the hubby and I still enjoy the smell of leaf smoke. And…did you ever notice that the verb skittered, as in the sentence “The leaves skittered down the street,”really only gets used in the fall?

fall-color-011-small.jpg

8 Responses to “Reasons to Like the Place You Live”


  1. 1 writeathome October 27, 2006 at 11:55 am

    Nice fall colors. The fall in California isn’t quite as spectacular as being back in the Midwest or the East Coast, but I still enjoy it. I like the verb skittered too.

    Blessings,

    Carol

  2. 2 Ron October 27, 2006 at 6:33 pm

    We have those nice fall colors here in Columbus, too. 🙂

    (I do miss living in the country, though.)

  3. 3 Becky October 28, 2006 at 9:44 am

    Carol, I would like to know what changes there are in California in the fall. I have wondered about that.

    And Ron, your dad and I are considering those fall colors in Columbus as well.

  4. 4 writeathome October 28, 2006 at 12:37 pm

    Becky,

    The trees do change colors here where I live in Northern California. It’s just not quite as spectacular as it is in the Midwest or back East. The leaves don’t usually start falling in abundance until mid November most years. Fall happens here but slower than it does in your area.

  5. 5 Andy October 28, 2006 at 6:38 pm

    I wasn’t so impressed with the fall leaves – they were piled practically waist high (and all down the front garden) –

  6. 7 Becky October 28, 2006 at 7:03 pm

    I raked eighteen bags of leaves today since we don’t have leaf pick-up. And I’m not done. I feel your pain, Andy!

    Your leftovers DO look pretty impressive!

  7. 8 iluv2prshim October 29, 2006 at 4:54 am

    I love the beautiful fall colors. This is my favorite time of year. Have fun raking.
    Blessings,
    Ronda


Leave a Reply

