One Hurdle Jumped…

…in my thinking, at least.

Yesterday, the hubby got up at five and was at work at six. As usual. He was actually off-duty by 3:30 (except for the phone calls). That’s sort of good for him.

At ten last night, just as we were going to bed, the phone rang. There was a two-car derailment, and he needed to go. I know this must sound stupid to people who don’t know about the railroad, but every derailment is somebody’s fault. The different departments (track, transportation and sometimes the car department) have to discuss the derailment until they decide whose fault it is. Sometimes it takes forever! The derailment can only be fixed after the cause has been determined.

I called him at 3:30 when I woke up and he wasn’t here. They were still in the process of fixing. Had to wait for train movement, you know. I called again at 7. He would be home soon, he said. He had managed to catch an hour’s nap. Not long enough, but better than nothing. He made it home a little after eight, slept from 9ish to 11, and is off to work again.

That helped me cross a hurdle in my retirement thinking. When we were in our twenties and thirties, the middle-of-the-night calls were annoying. However, at that time the hubby got paid for overtime and, as he would often remind me, the overtime paid for our extras. Overtime was a trial that had to be endured.

Now, though, the 70+ hour weeks are bad enough in the daytime, but the interruption of sleep seems to be just too much. It will get worse as the cold weather comes. Track lights will stay on. Rails will break. It will be the middle of the night, and he will have to go.

So, I think at least in this respect that I am ready for retirement. The man doesn’t want to quit working, anyway. He just would like to work forty hours or so. In the daytime. With weekends off. Doesn’ t seem too much to ask.

When I stopped at Speedway for my morning coffee, I shared my thoughts with the cashier. She told me that her husband, a truck driver, had retired three years ago. He had had a seizure on the road. Wrecked his truck, but he was the only one injured. The doctors couldn’t find a cause. Said he might never have another one. But she and her husband decided that enough was enough. He had worked long hours for years. It was time to stay home. And, she said, she is glad they made the decision.  Her husband has never had another seizure.

I think I am, too. Glad the hubby has decided to retire. The golden years will be a whole lot nicer if he is here to share them with me.

Remind me that I said that at the end of February, OK?

2 Responses to “One Hurdle Jumped…”


  1. 1 writeathome October 9, 2006 at 3:56 pm

    I remember my mom always saying, as I was growing up, “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.” I’m sure retiring will be a bit of a transition at first, but like your friend at the coffee shop, I don’t think you’ll regret it.


  1. 1 Two Posts on Waiting that I Needed « I thought I’d have it together by now… Trackback on January 2, 2007 at 7:42 pm

Leave a Reply

