Decisions, decisions, decisions!

The hubby has pretty much decided to retire next year, and the thought of all the things that means for us throws me into a tizzy. Where will we live? What job will he have (since he plans just to “downsize” his employment from 70+ hours a week to say…40)? Where will I work? I like the job I have! Just like Adam’s Eve, I want control. I want to know ahead of time how things are going to work out, even though my Father has shown me time and time again that they WILL work out!

When I was thinking so hard I was giving myself a headache, I came on this poem by Stormie Omartian that Sissy had posted on The Whippoorwill Chronicles. Thank you, Sissy, for the reminder that right now, at this moment, I have “just enough light.”

Sometimes only the step I’m on,

or the very next one ahead,

is all that is illuminated for me.

God gives just the amount of light I need

for the exact moment I need it.

At those times I walk in surrender to faith,

unable to see the future

and not fully comprehending the past.

And because it is God who has given me

what light I have,

I know I must reject the fear and

doubt that threaten to overtake me.

I must determine to be content where

I am, and allow God to get me where I

need to go.

I walk forward,

one step at a time,

fully trusting that

the light God sheds

is absolutely sufficient.

~Stormie Omartian~

1 Response to “Decisions, decisions, decisions!”


  1. 1 writeathome October 3, 2006 at 12:41 am

    I know it can be hard when your future seems uncertain, but those are the times to lean on Proverbs 3:5,6. May God direct you, one step at a time.


Leave a Reply

