Frustration in English 12

I am in English 12 two periods a day. Today the teacher, who is thirty-one, was trying to explain the statement “the road to hell is paved with good intentions.”

A boy raised his hand and said, “I don’t get it. I thought it was doing good things that got you to heaven.”

The teacher’s answer was, “Well, it means that sometimes you try to do good and it all goes to pot and doesn’t turn out the way you planned.”

The boy still looked puzzled, and from my place in the back of the room I wanted to scream, “THAT’S NOT WHAT IT MEANS!! It means that a lot of well-meaning people who think that good works will get them to heaven are not going to get there. The only way to get there is belief in Jesus Christ.”

But

I work in a public school

so I couldn’t say that.

And then

the moment was past.

1 Response to “Frustration in English 12”


  1. 1 Sissy B August 22, 2006 at 1:42 pm

    I find that also in my position as a College Professor…it perplexes me….I am searching for a way to have God’s light shine through me…especially within the education system.


Leave a Reply

