If Only I Had a GPS

The seniors are writing their first compositions already, and once again I am learning something new. I know a little about the Brickyard 400 and football, which were some of the topics. However, I had never heard of geo caching.

The way the young lady who is writing about it explained it to me, geo caching is like a big scavenger hunt using a GPS. She said that if you find something, you have to replace it with something else (so the next hunter has something to find). This young lady went to Mississippi for her vacation, and she said she and her friends geo cached pretty much the whole summer.

The hubby and I LOVE to cruise, although recent gas prices have deterred us somewhat. I think it would be fun to geo cache. At first I thought it would have to wait for a new and fancier car. Currently, I drive a ’93 Olds to work, and our other car is an ’01 Venture van. HOWEVER I checked geo caching FAQs here and found out that you could pick one up for around $100.

Now I just have to convince the hubby, which I don’t think will be too hard. THEN we have to have the time. That’ll be a lot harder.

3 Responses to “If Only I Had a GPS”


  1. 1 Ron August 12, 2006 at 12:24 am

    You can also geocache with your blog by tagging your posts with your current location when you travel. Pictures are even better because you can tag them with the location they were taken and can do it post trip.

  2. 2 Andy August 12, 2006 at 3:13 pm

    It’s really great fun – I’ve found over 400 geocaches so far. You can pick them up on ebay for even cheaper than that for a basic one. If you want more details then let me know and I can give you some advise.

  3. 3 Becky August 15, 2006 at 10:05 pm

    Thanks, Andy. I am sure I will be in contact when the hubby and I have time.


Leave a Reply

