A God-shaped Hole

There’s a God-shaped hole in all of us
And the restless soul is searching
There’s a God-shaped hole in all of us
And it’s a void only he can fill

–From the song “God-Shaped Hole” by Plumb

My friend Lisa gave her Christian testimony this weekend at a retreat sponsored by her church. She shared her frustration about this a few weeks ago. She was not raised in a family that went to church, and she feared that her faith journey would be looked down on by the people to whom she spoke.

I tried to reassure her. After all, we all come to heart knowledge of Christ in ways unique to ourselves. God meant for her to be at that retreat. He meant for someone to hear her testimony. I was glad to be there for Lisa, glad she shared her story with me. Last Thursday, I was privileged to share in the next step of faith for my eldest grandson as well.

We visited my son and his family, and of course I had to play with the kids. RJ took me into the living room so that I could do his preschool exercises. I don’t sit on my knees or with my legs crossed very well, so I tried to distract him. Laughing, he wrestled me to the floor and climbed on top of me.

Very gently, he laid his hand over my heart.

“Does Jesus live here?” he said.

“Yes.”

He frowned. “Grandma, I don’t think Jesus lives in my heart.”

“Would you like Him to?” I replied.

My answer was a solemn nod.

And there, in my son’s living room, lying on the carpet with RJ sitting on my belly, we prayed. RJ folded his hands and repeated these words,”Dear Jesus, I love you. Will you please come into my heart and live there? Thank you. Amen.”

That’s all. And my heart is so full that I was there for this moment. My children asked me some of the questions that RJ asks, but they did not ask them at the age of three. He seems particularly aware of spiritual things, and for that I am thankful.

And that brings me back to Lisa. How wonderful is our God, that He who shaped her would draw her to Himself even though she had no help from her family! I know only some of the obstacles she faced. But I know that the God who kept her and who has kept me will be faithful and keep my grandson. How blessed we are to know that He keeps His word. I feel both honored and humbled by watching these two journeys. Lisa has come a long way. And the trek for RJ is just beginning.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they will be filled. — Matthew 5:6

4 Responses to “A God-shaped Hole”


  1. 1 sara February 14, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    I am scared to give testimony and stories about a three year old being smart enough to do it gives me a lot of encouragement, thank you

  2. 2 Becky February 14, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    I’m glad RJ’s story spoke to you, Sara. May God bless you as you grow in Him.

  3. 3 Patrick July 30, 2011 at 5:21 am

    I’ve just asked Jesus to live in my heart !


Leave a Reply

