Libraries

I am off to the library shortly. I lived most of my life with a library card, but my holding one has been sporadic since we moved to Indiana. See, the way it works here is that, if you don’t live in town (and we don’t), you have to pay to use the library. Having spent the majority of my life using the library for free, that just doesn’t seem right to me.

My daughter has kept me in books up until now. She frequents used book stores, and her patients pass books along to her,too. HOWEVER…I have been reading Robin Lee Hatcher’s blogs, both Write Thinking and Fact and Fiction, and I have decided that the $26.50 I will pay for six months will be worth it to try her books.

Besides, I think I NEED to read BLOGGING FOR DUMMIES. I know there’s a lot you can read on line, but the printed version in a book still sometimes feels best to me.

3 Responses to “Libraries”


  1. 1 Tena July 22, 2006 at 3:53 pm

    I agree. I love to hold a book and sit anywhere I want when I read. Somehow, reading from a computer takes some of the pleasure out of it. Unless I’m reading blogs of people I like, that’s different than a book. I’m also a “high-light, underline” person. I mark books up. I know that unnerves some people. Only educational, inspiring kind of books, though, like the marriage one I blogged about. Old books and novels, I don’t do that to.

    $26.50 is not bad. I think it’ll be worth it to you.

    Great post, Becky.
    Tena

  2. 2 Becky July 22, 2006 at 4:10 pm

    I am an underline person too, Tena. What is it about the highlighting that that is so satisfying?

  3. 3 Tena July 22, 2006 at 8:51 pm

    It makes me feel like I’m putting emphasis on a particular section that I find very important or meaningful to me. If someone else reads a book that I highlighted in, they would probably highlight different sections. I hightlight my Bible, too. But, only things that REALLY stand out to me, otherwise I would be highlighting the ENTIRE thing! I believe it’s ALL important and meaningful to me.

    Have a great day!


Leave a Reply

