The Exercise Nazi Wields Her Power

I was talking to the daughter about a friend who recommended yoga to me, and in the course of the conversation, we mentioned exercise. Mine, specifically.

This is what the daughter, aka the Exercise Nazi, said: “Yoga’s not bad for stretching, but you are doing Pilates, which is better for strength training. How’s that going, by the way?”

Now, the daughter knows that her dad and I took two weeks of vacation and that I had a week with RJ. And, weakly, those are the excuses that I began to recite. But she wasn’t having it.

“Mom,’ she said. “You know you feel better when you exercise. You need to quit being a slacker and get on the ball.”

“I will, ” I said. “But right now I’m blogging, and then I have to go to the grocery store, and ….”

The Nazi does NOT tolerate excuses. “You don’t get what I’m telling you,” she said in her best Nazi voice. “Go do crunches. On the ball. Now.”

I didn’t. I went to the grocery store. But I have felt guilty all day, mostly because the Nazi is right. I DO feel better when I exercise. And I like feeling better. I am just currently out of the habit. I only have ten weeks off in the summer and I haven’t gotten half the things done that I had planned and…

Never mind. I can just hear the Nazi and her “no effort, no results” speech. She usually calls in the evening. I guess I had better go get on the ball. Literally.

0 Responses to “The Exercise Nazi Wields Her Power”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

