Even Miss Renee

The emphasis in Bible School last week was on God’s love. A lot of RJ’s memory verses were from I Corinthians 13. You know. Love is patient. Love is kind. Love is not rude. So, with that kind of emphasis, you would expect the boy to have some questions. Which he did.

This is the way it went:

“Grandma, did Jesus die?’

“Yes.”

“Why did He do that?”

“Because He loves you.”

“He loves me so much?”

“Yes.”

“Does Jesus live in heaven?”

“Well, there and in our hearts.”

“In my heart?”

“Yep.”

“Does He live with God?”

“Yes.”

RJ was silent for a moment. Then he said,”Grandma, do you love everybody?”

Moment of truth for Grandma. Nobody loves everybody.

“I try, RJ.”

He pondered that for a moment. Then he said, “Does God love everybody?”

“Yep.”

“Even Miss Renee?”

I felt a lump in my throat. RJ used to go to Miss Renee for daycare, and he came away with some issues. We started getting worried when he would tell us that he was a bad little boy. Miss Renee said so. The whole thing ended with his getting another daycare provider. It’s been four months, though, and he still talked about Miss Renee on each of the seven days that he was here. Four months is a big slice of a three-year-old’s life.

I don’t claim to know what went on at Miss Renee’s but, truth be told, she is one of the people I have problems loving. Mostly because she was not loving toward my grandson. And I don’t claim to know what RJ was thinking. I imagine, though, that the discussion at Bible School included something about Jesus loving even mean people. And I think that Renee was the meanest person RJ could think of.

So I said, “Even Miss Renee, RJ. But it makes Him sad when she does bad things.”

He searched my face. “Even when she does bad things?” he said. I nodded, and he ran off to play.

In Romans 3:23, the Bible tells us that “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” All. Even me. Which really makes me no better than Renee. So why should I have a problem loving her? But RJ doesn’t know that. That everyone falls short, I mean. And I don’t think the lesson here was the same for him as it was for me. Having observed my grandson all week, I am thinking that he was just thankful that God’s love was there. And that it is big enough. For everybody. Even mean people.

Even Miss Renee.

2 Responses to “Even Miss Renee”


  1. 1 Albert Fackler August 10, 2006 at 1:12 am

    I don’t mean to pry, but my daughter and I live in Boise, and was wondering if the Miss Renee’ Daycare you’re speaking of is located here. I have some very serious issues with this daycare providerin Boise, Idaho in relation to my daughter. I’d appreciate your attention. Thank you.

    -Albert

  2. 2 Becky August 10, 2006 at 1:20 am

    No, Albert, it is not there. I am very sorry that you are having daycare issues. I know how RJ’s broke our hearts.


Leave a Reply

