Unlawful Life? How Can That Be?

The other night, my husband and I watched a disturbing episode of Law and Order. In this episode, a mother was suing a doctor for "wrongful life." See, she had this daughter who had spina bifida. She didn't really want the daughter, but she DID want to marry the daughter's father, so she manipulated doctors and her medical records, and…you get the picture. Once the daughter WAS born, she wanted money for the daughter to be taken care of. She just didn't want to be the caretaker.

That's TV, right?

Not necessarily.

My son sent me this link from FARK.com about something very similar. Seems there is this article in the MONTGOMERY ADVERTISER about a woman who is suing for damages to a child she tried to have aborted. The Alabama Court of Civil Appeals has ruled that the woman can sue Planned Parenthood on behalf of the child because " a health care provider can be held responsible for injuries caused to a child in the womb."

I'm confused. The mother wanted the child DEAD, but she is suing because it is injured? How, exactly, does that work? And, sadly, I see some sense in the comments on FARK.com. The woman is bring suit because her child was born with a hole in its heart and "an inverted tube leading from her heart to her lungs," but these do not sound like abortion-related injuries to me. Alexandra, one of the commenters on FARK, posted a picture of a little girl who survived an abortion–without an arm. That sounds more likely.

But the point here is, at least for me, that you can't have it both ways. I understand the reasoning ialdabaoth had on FARK, although I do not agree with it:

Look. Up to a certain point, it's not a child yet – it's just a child in potentia. In which case, it's perfectly acceptable to terminate the pregnancy.

However, once you reach a certain point, it *IS* a child, and has to be taken care of. Now, in this case, the woman had two choices: Proceed with the process of creating a healthy child, or stop near the beginning of the process before a child is created.

She chose to stop.

Unfortunately, the doctors botched the procedure, REMOVING BOTH CHOICES. Now she couldn't stop the procedure, *AND* could not raise a healthy child. Instead, she is forced to raise a physically damaged child – which will surely incur many more costs than the physically healthy child that she probably knew she couldn't take care of in the first place. This is not her fault, and when she tried to do something about it in the first place, the doctors farked it up and made it worse.

How is this not at least partially their fault?

As a Christian, I believe that life begins at conception. But even if you don't agree with me, you have to be sort of bothered by what Judge Glenn Murdock wrote:

"Neither the United States Supreme Court nor the Supreme Court of Alabama has ever ruled that a medical provider, or for that matter a mother, can engage, with some blanket of constitutional protection, in negligent or reckless conduct that deforms or injures a child so long as the deformity or injury is inflicted on the child before it leaves the womb," Judge Glenn Murdock wrote.

To embrace that position would allow abortion clinics to operate "as carelessly or recklessly as they wish without bearing any responsibility. … It would be hard to imagine a more troubling development in our law…".

What does he mean, saying that mothers and medical providers CANNOT engage in "conduct that deforms or injures a child before it leaves the womb"? What does the judge think an abortion does, anyway?

I'm still confused about what our country allows. And why. If you want more information, you can read the article in the MONTGOMERY ADVISER or the comments on FARK. Then, I hope you'll think about where we are as a nation and what the consequences of our actions may be. As for me, this is what I believe.I believe babies are babies from the moment they are conceived. And if their lives are precious to God, they had better be to us as well.

(Psalms139:13-16, from BibleGateway.com)

13 For you [God]created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother's womb.

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place.
When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

16 your eyes saw my unformed body.
All the days ordained for me
were written in your book
before one of them came to be.

 

 

 

0 Responses to “Unlawful Life? How Can That Be?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

