Pests

According to Answers.com, a pest is "an annoying person or thing; a nuisance." Such is the case with carpenter bees. You've probably seen 'em. They look like bumble bees, but they are BIG. Generally, though, they won't harm people. They just want some wood to live in.

Like I said in my last post, the hubby is rebuilding the shed, which means that our seldom-used picnic table, made of treated lumber, finally came outside. He and I weren't too worried about it. Treated lumber is treated with an arsenic compound, so carpenter bees aren't supposed to like it. In fact, it is supposed to be fatal to them.

I guess, then, that the carpenter bee in our yard was a mutant or something. We saw him hanging around the picnic table. It took a long time before he landed. The hubby and I just thought he would maybe take a nibble and go away. But we didn't see him leave. While we were taking a break from hauling one of the lighter (480 pound) ties into the back yard, the hubby decided to sit on one of the table's benches.

"The bee is gone, isn't it?" he said.

I looked.

"I don't think so," I said. "I see him hanging on the bottom."

The hubby turned the bench over and, sure enough, that little guy had chewed away the treated wood. All that was sticking out was his backside. It only took about ten minutes. Pretty busy not-so-little bee, don't you think?

The hubby made short work of him. Or maybe her. I was glad. Basically, I hate pests. I don't like pesky people, but I can really do without the insect kind of pest. At least carpenter bees don't sting. Generally, anyway. And we can always take the picnic table back inside.

In case carpenter bees interest or annoy YOU, you can click here for more information.

0 Responses to “Pests”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

