Retirement and Lustron Homes

My son and his wife have hatched a plot to have us retire near them. To this end our son, who is very knowledgeable about computers has this saying on our computer log-in:

You need to move to Columbus to retire. You can buy a condo so you won't have grass to mow or snow to shovel, and you can see your grandchildren whenever you want.

We have to click on the above saying before we can finish booting up. Sort of a brain-washing technique, don't you think?

On Sunday, I mentioned to my daughter-in-law that we were thinking about staying right where we are for retirement. Her response was a resounding "NO" and she got the three-year-old grandson to chime in. I told her she could send me real estate listings, but I wasn't going to promise anything. My husband is getting more and more comfortable with the idea of retirement. I like it right where I am, at least for now.

Anyway…yesterday I came home and, sure enough, Beth had e-mailed some listings. One said that the home was a Lustron Home. I was curious (especially since I had looked at the photos of the kitchen), so I decided to find out what a Lustron Home is.

At this website, I found that these homes were produced by a man named Carl Strandlund. The idea was to create new housing for returning servicemen. They were built in a former aircraft plant in Columbus, Ohio, in 1949 and 1950. Designed to be maintenance-free, the homes were made "of steel with porcelain-coated exterior panels, steel framing, and steel interior walls and ceiling." They were considered to be "three times stronger than a traditional stick built home." Originally, the homes cost $7,000. The listing Beth sent me was for $110, 500.

I have to admit that I find the idea of such a home intriguing. They are supposed to be "rodent proof, fire proof, lightening proof and rustproof." Still, I wonder if you could update and remain true to the character of the home. And I am perpetually cold. Can you get warm in a home made of steel?

I don't think we are really close to retirement unless my husband surprises me, which he has been known to do. Still, I think this listing is one that I will keep in the back of my mind just in case. It doesn't have an attached garage. It only has one bathroom and two bedrooms, so I don't know where the office would be if I had a guest room. But if I lived in a Lustron Home, only about 2500 people could claim they had one like it!

I have included a picture of a Lustron Home, which I found here, just in case you are curious,too.

1 Response to “Retirement and Lustron Homes”


  1. 1 Andy May 17, 2006 at 11:16 am

    Thats an interesting house – from the description it didn't sound very nice at all, but the photo's certainly make it look a lot better. Would be interesting to see what they look like inside though. He certainly did a better job than the prefab houses that were "made" in the uk – they had concrete coated walls and look really horrible nowadays.


Leave a Reply

