Parenting and Role Reversals

Sometimes as a parent you just know you did a good job. Part of my Mother's Day weekend included helping move our daughter into her new apartment and watching her "Jillify" it. She put up plaques and moved her furniture around (several times) to try and make things fit. She's been out of the nest, so to speak, for seven years, but she's been through a lot, and it was a real treat to watch her set her own home up happily. Emphasis on happy.

Then we traveled on to Dublin where our son lives with his family, and he was kind enough to treat his dad and me to a steak dinner. He and his family had been to church and met family obligations on the other side of the family before we saw them. The boys were well behaved for the two hours we spent in the restaurant. And there was a nice card waiting for me in the mailbox when we got home.

I bring this up because I read this article on the net in which another son told his mom he appreciated what she had done for him, and I heard echoes of what my own children have said. I just want to say that I am proud of you both. And I am sure that your father would join me in saying that any sacrifices we made while we were raising you were worth it. The proof is in the pudding, as they say. Look at what wonderful people you have turned out to be.

0 Responses to “Parenting and Role Reversals”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

