Moving On

The daughter called this afternoon with news: she thinks it is time to move out of her grandfather's house. She expected me to give her all sorts of arguments, but what I told her was to be careful what she picked.

I can't give her too much advice, really. I moved from my father's (her grandfather's) house on to my husband's home. I have never really lived on my own. But she has been moving away from her life as a married woman. It has been fifteen months since the divorce. And although I know she will struggle financially, particularly since she plans to go back to school this fall, I think maybe it is about time that she goes out on her own. Part of the problem within her marriage was that she always heard what she could not do. I think she heard it so often that, in spite of the fact that the people who knew her best knew better, she began to believe it.

So, Jill…here is a vote of confidence from your parents. We know you can do it. We know it won't be easy, but we think you know that anyway.

Go for it, sweetheart.

0 Responses to “Moving On”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

