Losses

I work in a small-town school, and the placidity of the town has been upset this week. A local businessman was murdered, and a 2003 graduate of the school was found dead in her bed at her sorority house. No foul play is suspected in her death. But the losses still hit hard.

I also heard today that one of the teachers at work will not have a job next year. She is three weeks older than I am and divorced. I don't want to say anything to her until this is public knowledge. I don't know what to say except that I am sorry. And that I will pray for her. She is alone and needs to take care of herself. I am sure this is hard.

At the end of the day, the school announcements ran a memorial to the girl who died. That was important for the community. For the students and teachers who knew the girl, and for those who know her sister, who is still in school. I thought it was tastefully done. Afterward, I heard one of the other teachers say what we were all thinking. That you need to appreciate every moment that you have.

Even though I try to appreciate all that God has given me, I know that I fall woefully short. Still…I called my daughter when I got out of school And she answered the phone. So did my husband.

I am grateful

0 Responses to “Losses”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

