The Hassle of Dinner

Why does dinner always seem to be such a hassle? You have to eat, right? So why all the fuss?

I have to admit that I harass my adult children because they eat out so much. Then I do it myself. Why? Because something got in the way of my plans, usually.

Take today. I thought I would try this recipe from Taste of Home called German Pizza. I did plan far enough ahead that I had the meat thawed for it, meat that I will now have to fry up regardless. But I did not check my stock of potatoes. I was sure I had enough.

Well, I don’t. So now what do I do? I have checked the rest of the cookbooks for things that I could make with what I have in my cupboard. I could go to the store. I don’t live that far from town. But the local grocery costs too much, and this time of day the Super WalMart is only for the stout of heart. Or the patient. Neither of which I seem to be at the moment.

I don’t remember dinner’s being such a hassle when I was younger. Maybe it was because I had to fix it for the kids and I knew there was no money to go out. And even though now there is, I still feel guilty about it. The older you get, the harder it is to keep your weight under control, and eating out surely doesn’t help that. Add to that the fact that we are watching our salt and our fat and….well, you get the picture. You may be in the same boat.

Maybe dinner was easier back in the day just because we didn’t know to watch out for all of those things.  So…should I serve my husband the leftover chicken enchiladas or the jambalaya?  I think I will settle for peanut butter and jelly yet again.

0 Responses to “The Hassle of Dinner”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

