Jabez Prayer

One of the blogs I like to read is Linda’s Thoughts. The sincerity of Linda’s faith comes through in her blog entries. A particularly good recent entry can be found here.

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to pray more for my husband, and before I read her entry, I had honestly not thought of the Jabez prayer. This seems a particularly appropriate time to pray for Ron since he was out all night on the derailment and will be gone all week so, with thanks to Linda, I am going to model my prayer for Ron after hers for her husband. The Jabez prayer is based on I Chronicles 4:9-10:

And Jabez was more honorable than his brethren…

Dear Lord,

I thank you that Ron has made pleasing you as a priority of his life. I know it has not always been easy for him to be honorable. I pray that you would give him the strength to continue being an example to both his family and those with whom he works

and his mother called his name Jabez, saying Because I bare him with sorrow.

Thank you for fashioning Ron in such as way that he sees ministering to others as a priority of his life. Although I never knew his mother, I am sure she would be pleased with the gentle, humble man that is her son.

And Jabez called on the God of Israel

How often Ron’s insight into Your Word has taught me and humbled me. I know that he looks to You for guidance. I pray that You will open his eyes to the situations that he needs to leave in Your hands, that he will have the ears to listen to Your voice when he is in need of direction.

saying, Oh that thou wouldst bless me indeed,

Lord, my husband is hesitant to ask for anything for himself. You have indeed blessed him with our move to Indiana, allowing him to use talents that, in the rear view mirror, we can see that You were developing all along. He has a relationship with his children and grandchildren that he did not think was possible. As he faces the second half of his life, please give him the faith he needs to see good things ahead. Help him to use the wisdom that comes with age as a way of enriching others. And Lord, please give him the eyes to see the blessings that he has.

And enlarge my coast,

This is a hard one, Lord. Ron has been presented with opportunities for transfer, and for his own reasons has chosen not to take them. If the right opportunity should present itself, please help him to see it and to stay in Your will. I know that he is disappointed that he cannot retire this year. I want to thank you because I know that this too, is under your control, that you are putting things in place so that Ron can retire at the right time and move on to the place or job where you would have him.

And that thine hand might be with me,

Thank you, Father, for caring for him as he was out all night on that derailment. Even the other morning when his truck wouldn’t start….I don’t know what evil You kept him from, but I know that Your hand was in it. With the hours that this job requires of him and all the time he spends on the road, I praise You for keeping Ron safe.

And that Thou wouldst keep me from evil,

Evil is all around us, Lord. Ron has opportunities to do things of which You would not approve both in his personal life and on the job. I pray that You would open his eyes to situations which are dangerous for him and give him the strength to resist the temptations that present themselves. And also, I would ask that You place Your angels around him to protect him from the evil intent of others. As a manager, he has both people and situations to juggle, and sometimes the people are not very nice when they don’t get their own way.

That it may not grieve me.

I know that sometimes, Lord, I am the one who grieves Ron. I let my own desires interfere with our communicating. I do not pray for him as I should. Help me to be sensitive to his situation so that I can be the support that I need to be.

And God granted him that which he requested.

Lord, You have been so good to us in our lives together. I know that Ron is grateful for the opportunities you have given him. None of us are deserving, and none of us have anything that You have not seen fit to give. Thank You for watching out for Ron thus far. We trust that You will grant him those things which are right for him in the future.

In Jesus’ name I pray.

Amen.

0 Responses to “Jabez Prayer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

