Men, Matt, Confusion

The topic of discussion at our house this weekend was male-female communication. I have heard a lot of good things about the subject in the past few days, not the least of which was something author Shaunti Feldhahn (FOR WOMEN ONLY) said in a radio interview. She said that men wished their wives knew how much they were loved. If only the men could say it.

I am convinced that men DO say it, but sometimes not in ways that we women understand. That would be why I liked Feldhahn’s book so much. It never hurts to understand your man. My husband, for instance. When we were newly married and even sometimes now, jokingly, he will tell me that he is holding my hand because I like it. And I do. Thing is, he does too, but coming from a macho sort of background, it does not come naturally to him to admit that.

My husband has tried to explain to me in recent years the fact that, for a lot of men, if things bother them, they just don’t think about them. Therefore, the problem does not exist. I think there is some truth to that. And if they have a problem that seems pressing to them, they will deal with that problem and put everything else on the back burner.

Enter Matt, the daughter’s un-date whose behavior in recent weeks has been rather annoying. With no statement that anything was wrong, he just dropped off the face of the map. The daughter was, of course, confused. Her father and I watched MUST LOVE DOGS and suggested that she try e-dating. I heard E-Harmony was good. Her father told her that her profile should say “must love cats.” She rolled her eyes.

Out of the blue, Matt called yesterday. They spent a lot of time together. They had fun, as they normally do, in that undefined sort of way. The daughter is happy. And she is confused.

0 Responses to “Men, Matt, Confusion”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

