Neighbors and Snow

“No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.” –Aesop

This is written with thanks to my neighbor Charlie and his friend.

Six inches of snow fell in my town last night. Combined with high winds, you can imagine what a mess things are. Most of the schools within a hundred miles are closed.

I decided to start shoveling last night, even though I knew that my efforts might not yield much with the blowing and drifting. Our driveway is long, and I was quite proud of myself when I came in with half of it done after an hour and a half of shoveling. I was, therefore, quite dismayed this morning to see how the snow had drifted back over the drive during the night.

The day started with a two hour school delay, which I figured gave me time to at least shovel enough that I had a chance of getting out of the driveway. I shoveled for an hour, and when I came in for a rest, I found that school was closed. “Good,” I thought, “gives me time to do the rest of my side of the drive.”

I don’t worry about the other side too much. My husband’s work truck is a four wheel drive.

I went back out and shoveled for an hour and a half. I wasn’t making the kind of progress I had hoped for. The wind chill was -4, but the driveway needed clearing. We are going to celebrate an early Christmas with our kids tomorrow.

Enter our neighbor across the street, riding in a truck equipped with a plow. He rolled down the window and said, “Good morning, Becky. Looks like you could use some help, girl.”

Thank God!! (And I do mean that literally.)

Minutes later, the rest of my driveway was clear. Two old men drove off with smiles on their faces, and I went in the house to get warm. Their act of kindness had warmed me already.


1 Response to “Neighbors and Snow”


  1. 1 Andy December 10, 2005 at 3:22 am

    Do they do driveways for your blogreaders?


Leave a Reply

