The World When You Are Three

As I have said before, our oldest grandson, RJ, is three.  When his daddy was three, the people who taught his Sunday School class looked forward to his arrival every Sunday so they could hear more of “the world according to Ronald.”  My husband and I have recently been enjoying the same thing with RJ (Ron III).

For instance, RJ calls us Grandma and Grandpa Indiana since that is where we live.  He has three sets of grandparents, and the other two live in the same city he does.  RJ is very aware of locations, but I am sure the three hour drive to our house seems like quite a trek to him.

He also seems convinced that we are in the phone when we talk to him.  The other night he was telling me something about his room and I said, “Honey, Grandma can’t see your room.”

“Here, Grandma,” he said.  “I will show you.”

Over the phone, I heard him grunting as if he were doing hard work, so I asked what he was doing.

“I’m taking you up the stairs,” he said.

I had to laugh.  Then I asked him if I was heavy.

“Yeah,” he said as he grunted again.  “I have to do it hard.”

I am so thankful that I have the chance to see the world through a child’s eyes again! 

 

0 Responses to “The World When You Are Three”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

