Fear. And Security.

My oldest grandson, RJ, is three. This is the first Halloween that he really remembers, and the scary stuff, although it scares him, still intrigues him.

We visited two weeks ago, and RJ wanted to watch the movie VAMPIRES. Now, I am not personally in favor of showing scary movies to toddlers, but his parents did not object, so I didn’t either.

RJ watched much of the movie with his arms wrapped around my neck. His mom asked him If the movie was scary. He wrapped my arms around him more tightly and said, “Yes, but Grandma is keeping me safe.”

A similar thing happened when we went to Meijer. An assortment of Halloween decorations were on display, and RJ’s response was to say, “Hold me, Grandma. There are monsters!”

Of course I picked him up, and a funny thing happened then. He wanted to go see the monsters. He felt safe…as long as he was in my arms.

I felt good about RJ’s feeling safe with me, and it seems to me that I recognized the scenario.  His feeling safe in my arms is much the same as my feeling safe with my Heavenly Father.  The world as I watch it is a scary place, full of wars and rumors of wars, earthquakes, hurricanes,and terrorists.  Things that shouldn’t be there.  I could be paralyzed with fear were it not for the fact that I know I am safe because of Who holds me.  And just like RJ and the monsters, that knowledge allows me to venture out despite my fear. to live in the world.

Isaiah 40:31 says, “But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. “(NIV)  They will be secure, despite the fact that the world is a scary place.

Thank you, RJ, for reminding me. 

 

0 Responses to “Fear. And Security.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

