“The Body” in Dublin

My son and his family moved into their new condo this weekend.

My husband and I traveled there to help. My husband did most of the work; my job was to watch RJ, age three, and ten-month old Tony. I will take any and all opportunities to do this.

My son had counted on our being there as he did not know how much outside help he would get. Outside help is important when you are a young married person and have just signed yourself into homeownership.

Other people did show, though, and they stayed with the job until almost everything was moved from the apartment to the condo. I was impressed with how hard they worked, but what impressed me even more was something I found out later in the evening. One couple, who brought their almost-eight-year-old son with them, had never met my son and his family before yesterday. Someone from the church put out the call that they needed help, and this family gave up their time to do just that. The wife even made Rice Krispy Treats for my grandsons.

Their actions, in my opinion, are what Christianity is all about. They gave up their time when I am sure they had other things they could have been doing. My son said he felt like a load had been lifted from his shoulders because everything had been moved, something he thought would take much longer.

The song by Casting Crowns, “If We Are the Body,” has been running through my head ever since I found out about the help my son received. The gist of the song is that non-Christians can’t know about Christ unless we are out there showing them, but I don’t think it hurts tired Christians to be reminded of who their family really is. The chorus of the song goes like this:

But if we are the body

Why aren’t His arms reaching?

Why aren’t His hands healing?

Why aren’t His words preaching?

And if we are the Body,

Why aren’t His feet going?

Why is His love not showing them there is a way?

These lyrics help me out with what I want most to say, which is THANK YOU to some people from St. John’s, Dublin, for helping out my son and his family.   Your feet were going, your arms were reaching, and His love was showing.  May you be similarly blessed.


1 Response to ““The Body” in Dublin”


  1. 1 Andy November 1, 2005 at 2:17 am

    I’ve found that happens in most churches – 2 weeks after starting to attend our church (fellowship baptist church (http://www.fbcdublin.org ) we got given the old church piano as they didn’t need it anymore. Also about 8 guys and a truck came round to move it into our house.
    That casting crowns song is good too – in fact the rest of the album is very good too.


Leave a Reply

