Object Lesson

A while ago, my friend Carol posted a recipe for posted a recipe for Easter Story Cookies.  I always thought I would like to make them with my grandsons, but as I am usually not with them on Easter morning, I didn’t know when.  As God would have it, this year was the time.

RJ is seven, and Tony is five.  They spent three days with us this week because they were on Easter break.  The weather was fabulous, and they ran from the time they ate breakfast until we made them come in at night.

On Thursday, I told them we were going to make Resurrection Cookies.  RJ sort of knew what resurrection meant.  Tony was interested in the cookies.

Here are the ingredients for the cookies:

1 cup whole pecans                                         1 teaspoon vinegar

3 egg whites(room temperature)                     pinch salt

1 cup sugar                                                      plastic-zipper baggie

wooden spoon                                                 wax paper

tape                                                                 cookie sheet

mixer                                                               mixing bowl

Bible

**Make sure to pre-heat your oven to 300 and to have your egg whites at room temperature.***

We started after supper.  I gave the boys each half a cup of pecans in a bag and a wooden spoon, and they went to town beating them to smithereens.  Then I explained that after Jesus was arrested, He was beaten by the Roman soldiers, and we read John 19:1-3.

Both boys’ faces were sober.  Suddenly, beating the pecans wasn’t quite as much fun.

The next ingredient was the teaspoon of vinegar.  I let each boy smell it before we put we put it into the bowl.  We talked about how, when Jesus was thirsty on the cross, He was given vinegar to drink.  (Neither boy wanted to try that.)  Then we read John 19:28-30.

The next step was to add the egg whites to the vinegar.  Eggs, I explained, represent life.   I told them Jesus gave His life to give us eternal life, and we read John 10:10-11.

Grandpa sprinkled a little salt into each boy’s hand at this point and had them taste it before we put it into the bowl  RJ brought his to me to taste.  He made a face.  “I’m not a big fan of salt,” he said.  We explained that the salt represented the salty tears of Jesus’ followers and the bitterness of our own sin, and we read Luke 23:27.

Then we added the sugar and told the boys how the sweetest part of the Easter story was when Jesus died because of His great love for us.  We told them that Jesus wanted us to know Him and belong to Him, and we read Psalm 34:8 and John 3:16.

We had to beat the ingredients together then for 12-15 minutes (ours took a little less), or until stiff peaks formed.  Tony didn’t like the noise of the mixer and stayed on the edge of the kitchen for this part, but RJ was right there with us, waiting to see what happened next.  We talked about how the whiteness of the batter represents our purity, in God’s eyes, after our sins have been cleansed by Jesus, and we read Isaiah 1:18 and John 3:1-3.

The next step was to fold in the broken nuts, and each boy added his own.  Then you drop teaspoons of dough onto waxed paper.  We explained that the mounds represented the rocky tomb where Jesus was buried, and we read Matthew 27:57-60.

Our cookies took two cookie sheets.  We put them in the oven and turned the oven off.  RJ and Tony each took a piece of tape and “sealed” the oven door just as the Roman soldiers sealed Jesus’ tomb.  We read Matt.27: 65-66.

Believe it or not, the next step in the recipe is to go to bed.  We talked about how Jesus’ followers were sad when His tomb was sealed, just as the boys were sad to leave the cookies in the oven instead of being able to taste them.  Then we read John 16: 20, 22.

The next morning, RJ was right at my side when I woke up, ready to go get the cookies.  Both boys’ eyes shone with anticipation as they took the tape off the oven and we opened it.  We all took a cookie and took a bite.  The boys were surprised to find that the cookies were hollow, and the hubby and I reminded them that Jesus’ followers found His tomb open and empty on the first Easter.  We read Matthew 28:1-9, and the boys were on their way.

One of the things that overwhelms me sometimes about grandmotherhood is wanting to have a Godly influence on my grandsons’ little hearts.  I am so grateful that, this Easter, the grandpa and I had a chance to share this object lesson with them.  I know they didn’t understand fully, and I will tell you that Tony was far more interested in the cookie part than anything else, but RJ came and sat by me to read some of the Scriptures, and I know that some of it stuck.    I hope they remembered the lesson of the cookies this morning as they sat in their own church to celebrate Easter.  And my prayer for them, as I remember their surprise at these hollow cookies, that they never lose their sense of wonder at the thought of the open tomb and the sacrifice that Jesus made for them and all believers.

He is risen!  He is risen indeed!

Happy Easter!


4 Responses to “Object Lesson”


  1. 1 writeathome April 4, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Hi Becky,

    I’m glad you were able to share this with your grandsons. This is one of the most powerful object lessons I’ve ever done. One of our Sunday school teachers did this today as part of her lesson. She had some of the cookies made ahead of time. During the part when the cookies are supposed to be baking in the oven, she pretended like she was going in back to put them in the oven, and we had a puppet show. After the puppet show, she came out with the finished product and finished the object lesson. There was one thing that was kind of funny that happened during the lesson. The teacher in advance had asked some kids to find some Scriptures for her and be able to read them at the appropriate time. One of the verses was Luke 23:27.

    And there followed him a great company of people, and of women, which also bewailed and lamented him.

    The girl that was reading this said “laminated” instead of “lamented.” The teacher stopped her and asked, “what did you say?” She said laminated again, and the teacher corrected her. A bunch of us were laughing, including the girl when she realized what she had said. :-) Hope you and your family are having a Happy Easter.

    Blessings,
    Carol

  2. 2 Charlotte April 4, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    I think this is great. I’m so glad you got to share this with your grandsons. I’m sure it is something they will not soon forget.
    Happy Easter.
    Charlotte

  3. 3 Ginger April 4, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    OH~~This is such a wonderful way to make cookies. I will have to save this for next year.I’m glad you enjoyed your grandsons.
    Thank-you,
    Ginger

  4. 4 e-Mom April 21, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    This is fantastic! Such a super way to explain the Easter story to children… especially boys… who always respond to food. (Well, I guess girls do too.) I’m bookmarking this post. Hopefully, I’ll be able to use it with my own grandchildren some day.

    Thanks so much for sharing. :~D

    e-Mom @ Chrysalis


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

